About Berkhamsted Music

Link to the Countess of Munster Musical Trust websiteFinancial Support

Berkhamsted Music is a member of Link to Berkhamsted Arts Trust website and is financially supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust.


The Berkhamsted Music Society was formed in 1954 by Peter Stevenson, Daphne Heal and their musical friends at in inaugural meeting in the School Hall of Berkhamsted School for Girls. Peter Stevenson was elected Chairman at that meeting, and Daphne Heal as Vice-Chairman, Joyce Stevenson as Secretary and Christopher Morris as Treasurer. The pianist Benno Moiseiwitch consented to be President and gave two unforgettable recitals before his death in 1963.

The following year the distinguished local composer and musician Antony Hopkins honoured the society by becoming its President, a post he held up to the date of his death in May 2014. Antony Hopkins provided magnificent support over the years giving lecture-recitals which were enjoyed by a large audience. He gave his latest talk as recently as 2005.

In 2017 the society welcomed Paul Lewis CBE www.paullewispiano.co.uk as its new President.  Paul  is internationally regarded as one of the leading musicians of his generation.  His cycles of core piano works by Beethoven and Schubert have received unanimous critical and public acclaim worldwide.

The society has enjoyed programmes from many famous artists over the years - these include Natalie Clein, Lesley Garrett, Steven Isserlis, Emma Kirkby, Freddy Kempf, Stephen Kovacevich, John Lenehan, John Lill, Tasmin Little, Lawrence Power, Raphael Wallfisch, Kathryn Stott and innumerable string quartets and other recitalists.

Another highly valued feature of the society are the excursions to venues in London to hear orchestral concerts, or visits to other venues such as Oxford and Milton Keynes. These start from Berkhamsted in comfortable coaches and are usually planned for 4- 6 times a year.

Officers and Committee

Officers and contact information
President Paul Lewis CBE
Vice President Brian Norris
Chairman Humphrey Norrington telephone 01442 871855
Vice Chairman Colin Mitchell
Hon. Treasurer Neil Kennedy telephone 01442 862798 email address treasurer@berkhamstedmusic.co.uk
Hon. Secretary Margaret Dudlyke
Members Ian Fyfe telephone 01442 862682 (Excursions) email addressexcursions@berkhamstedmusic.co.uk
Guy Dawkins
Anthea Lovatt